Darker Shade Of Magic Review

Darker Shade Of Magic Review

Hey Guys, I thought I would try and write a review for A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab, I really struggle to write reviews and I don’t know why, but here’s to improving.

Ok so here goes..

Summary (Taken from Goodreads cause I can’t summarise)

Officially, Kell is the Red traveler, ambassador of the Maresh empire, carrying the monthly correspondences between the royals of each London. Unofficially, Kell is a smuggler, servicing people willing to pay for even the smallest glimpses of a world they’ll never see. It’s a defiant hobby with dangerous consequences, which Kell is now seeing firsthand.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I found myself reading at every spare moment I had and with all my exams that hasn’t happened for a while. Altogether I would give it 4.5 ⭐️’s  I would have given it 5 because I adored it but some of the events were seemed to be added to help the story move faster – this isn’t always a bad thing I just wanted to mention it!

Kell = new favourite character and bookish boyfriend OMG. Kell is one of the last remaining travellers this means he can travel between Londons. He is in charge of bringing messages from the leaders of each London. Kell smuggles things from London to London sometimes for himself sometimes for collectors and magic enthusiasts. Kell ends up smuggling something he shouldn’t between the Londons which has knock on effects.

Lila– Lila I didn’t like her as much as other people who have read  the book, partly because I thought she was going to be more like Aelin from throne of class feminine and badass but she is more masculine and badass – She is a pickpocket in grey London and enjoys the idea that everyone thinks she is a man as few people suspect her – again not a bad thing (in fact it was very unique) just not what I was expecting.

The Londons 

Red London – Most people have magic and is completely different to the London known today. This was my second favourite London because there wasn’t as much interaction in this world.

Grey London – No magic left in the kingdom, they don’t crave magic but had learnt to live without it. At the beginning Kell visits King George 3rd I would loved for there to have a been more interaction with the history and the king (maybe there is in the other books) Probably my favourite London

White London – Magic is seen as power, white London is full of pain and anguish, ruled by siblings Astrid and Athos who force the people to live in fear. – they are hungry for magic

Black London – Magic has made Black London collapse in upon itself because they took advantage of it and used it to much.

I really enjoyed the book and will definitely be reading the next two! Also how gorgeous are the American hardcovers 😍

Follow me on Instagram

Speak soon

H xx

3 thoughts on “Darker Shade Of Magic Review

Leave a comment